The Big Green Egg!

Have any of you all heard of the Big Green Egg? If not, you are really missing out! It claims to be the world’s best smoker and grill, and last night I got to try it out myself and was literally blown away! But lets back up, we first need to introduce last nights cooks:

Here is my dad in all his glory!  Very proud of his Big Green Egg and Deschutes Brewery apron! He really knows how to dress the part!

He also can’t possibly cook on the Big Green Egg without his new hat!

Cook number two:

Rob Shearer, the newest member of the Lieberg/MacGregor clan.  If you like his hat you should check out thehouseofmacgregor.com.  I am pretty sure wearing this hat made his cooking skills go up and beyond!

Cooks number three and four:

Me and lizzy!  I actually only helped out making kale chips, but my mom was hands on with most of last nights dinner.

Finally our dessert chef:

Mary is the queen of pies.  We will get to her wonderful creation in a bit.

Last but not least, everyone who came to dinner last night!  Without everyone here, dinner would not have happened!

Now back to the Big Green Egg, lizzy made a wonderful maple syrup glaze that she rubbed on a HUGE salmon filet.  She let this marinate for a few hours before smoking it on the Big Green Egg!

Beautiful!  Once that was complete we moved on to the next creation….. chicken cooked on top of a Bud Light beer can.  That’s right, you heard me, chicken cooked on a Bud Light can.  The beer keeps the moisture in, that’s what they tell me.  I did not argue with that theory! Since becoming a farmer I have a new appreciation for beer and why not plop a huge chicken on top of it for cooking purposes!  However, before the beer was involved in the situation Rob put a dry rub on the chicken, and then things went next level.

All the spectators:

It was really the coolest thing I have seen in a while.  Who needs a TV when you have the Big Green Egg to entertain you! Plus feed you!

We enjoyed our salmon and chicken with a side of potato salad, couscous salad, bread, and lots of vino!

This is what eating at my parents house looks like!  They never disappoint!

We even tried something that I do not think has ever been done….Mary cooked her fruit pie on the Green Egg!

Before……

After!

Last night was one of the best evenings I have had in a long time!  Thank you to my wonderful family and closest friends! I enjoyed every minute of it!

Now back to reality, this weeks forecast at the farm:

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday
Clear
94° F | 63° F
Clear
94° F | 67° F
Clear
94° F | 67° F
Clear
94° F | 67° F
Rain
83° F | 61° F
Clear Clear Clear Clear Rain

60% chance of precipitation

This entry was posted in Adventures, Random Goodness!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Big Green Egg!

  1. Jean Husson says:

    If anyone deserves a great vacation you and Taylor do. Your energy is remarkable.

    PS My great- grandmother was a MacGregor and that is also the name of my 17 yr old cat!

    • drealieberg says:

      Jean,

      It was SO great meeting you at the farm stand yesterday! I hope dinner turned out well! Hopefully this weather cools down soon! Then we can really get cooking in the kitchen!!!

  2. Mary K says:

    I haven’t been eating much meat lately because I’m too suspicious of it in WV, but that beer can chicken was out of this world!! And no amount of praise will do that salmon justice. Might try a little flour to settle that pie filling next time though, huh? Go green egg!

    • drealieberg says:

      Mary,

      I am going to have to start mailing you dinner from MA. Too bad Jamie Oliver left town. You could have mooched off him for a while.

      Miss you

  3. Carrie Link says:

    Andrea, you crack me up. And that’s one of the highest compliments I give.

  4. Pingback: i am thankful | A Farmer In The Dell

Leave a Reply

