Real Pizza!

This is going to be short because farmers go to bed early and it is past my bedtime!  Today I actually had the day off from the farm because I am going in this Sunday to help out in the farm stand.  Can you guess what I did???? Sleep in? No…..Drink coffee and read the newspaper on the front porch???? No…..Instead I went for a 10 mile run and went up to the farm to help out! Do I think I am certifiably crazy?  Yes!  I have never had a job in my life where I felt the need to go in on my day off.  I must be doing something important because it didn’t feel like a burden.  It felt great to help out because I knew the farm needed an extra hand.  Not only that, but being at the farm inspired our dinner tonight.  A lady who came into the farm stand was making a veggie pizza and bought a ton of great veggies to top it off with.  This sparked something in me, however, I opted out of a ton of veggies and went simple.  Here is what happened in the kitchen tonight!

Prosciutto and Goat Cheese Pizza with Arugula Topping!

Ingredients:

pre-made pizza dough (or homemade if you are more on top of it than me)

Marinara Sauce (as much as you feel like)

Mozzarella Cheese ( a few handfuls)

Thin Slices of Prosciutto (maybe 3-5 slices)

Goat Cheese (Enough Crumbles to Make You Happy)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

Roll out pizza dough on a cookie sheet (or whatever you cook your pizzas on)  Spread sauce evenly over pizza crust. Sprinkle mozzarella cheese over crust. Place prosciutto on top of cheese. Sprinkle goat cheese over prosciutto. Bake until prosciutto is crisp and cheese is melted, about 10 minutes.

As the pizza cooked I made a quick arugula salad to place on top of the pizza once it was fully cooked.  I sprinkled red wine vinegar and olive oil with salt and pepper.  The best part of the whole pizza was that arugula topping!

It was wonderful!

By the way…..my birthday is coming up and a new camera is on the list.  Before you know it the photos on A Farmer In The Dell wont be so horrible!

This entry was posted in Arugula. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Real Pizza!

  1. liz says:

    Andrea, i made the kale chips tonight as Eric was firing up the new Green Egg for some great burgers. They (the kale chips) were great. Thanks for the inspiration.

    tl

  2. amy leclerc says:

    Okay…are we related? What happened? You must be lizzie’s daughter more than you are my sister. You are really rockin the kitchen dude! Love the recipes-simple, fresh and tasty.

    I had dinner tonight at Abby’s Table-she is doing what you do, but I pay her $18 to sit and enjoy her farm fresh dinners with friends and stranger alike. A MUST when you are back home. I do hope Portland is still HOME…

    XO

Leave a Reply

