Fake Pasta?

The Humidity won’t go away!  I am still bitter about being on the East Coast for apparently the hottest, most humid summer in a long time (Everyone is telling me this is unusual, but I don’t buy it!). Again, people, there are other places where the weather doesn’t do this! I am sticky all day long! A very unattractive look if you ask me. With that being said, today at the farm was hot, humid, and yes, sticky.  Does anyone know what a rotten melon that has been sitting in 90 degree weather smells like? If you can possibly imagine this, that is basically what my afternoon looked/smelled like.  However, I couldn’t help but be proud that I was back on team melon! I was sent back on the important mission of harvesting melons! Don’t worry, I didn’t pick the rotten ones!  Only the best, ripest, and if I could swing it, the smallest melons! (They are still really tasty!)  After carrying crates of melons that I swear weigh more than I do, it was time to call it a day.  I was exhausted, smelly, sticky, and very hungry.  So what did I bang out for a quick, easy, and nutritious farm fresh dinner? Fake Pasta!!!! That’s right, no carbohydrates in this tasty dish!  It turned out really well and I even tricked the King of pasta!  Taylor kept on asking if it was true that there wasn’t any “real” noodles in this dish.  I swear there wasn’t!

Tonight’s menu: Summer Squash Pasta Noodles with Tomato Sauce

First some essential from the farm:

4 Summer Squash

3 medium ripe tomatoes chopped

1 small hot pepper chopped

1/2 cup chopped mushrooms

1 onion diced

3 cloves of garlic diced (more or less depending on your love-affair with garlic)

1/3 cup of slivered almonds ( I think that is about what I used)

1/4 cup chopped fresh basil (roughly?)

1/4 cup pre-made tomato sauce

First peel the summer squash.  Then use the same peeler (for me this was a cheese grater) and peel/slice the summer squash in long, thin pieces.  (imagine fettuccine).  Then set aside.

Then saute up the evoo with the garlic and onion and saute until they begin to brown a bit.  (maybe 5-7 minutes) add the mushrooms and saute for about 3 minutes.  You are now ready to add the tomatoes, almonds, pepper, and basil.  Stir stir stir! Then add your pre-made tomato sauce and then your summer squash to the mix for about 3-4 minutes.

Sprinkle with salt, pepper, and parmesan cheese! Serve hot!

We ate this with a nice simple fresh salad.  Along with a Harpoon I.P.A

It was a perfect meal! Like I said, I fooled the man who loves his pasta! This really was a great substitute!

This entry was posted in Summer Squash. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fake Pasta?

  1. liz says:

    Is that my cutting board in the background? At any rate this sounds delicious and i plan on trying it. This would be perfect for STM.

  2. drealieberg says:

    lizzy,

    This was so good! You have to try it! It was so easy and only took about 15 minutes to prepare! Is STM gluten free? If so this is a must for Carrie. It tasted just like pasta!

Leave a Reply

