Farewell Basil!

Something sad is happening at the farm currently.  Our beloved basil is done for the season.  A nasty disease has struck and there seems to be no cure.  Downy mildew is ruining my August.  As with most things that happen in my life, I was not prepared for this situation.  Did I make batches and batches of pesto to freeze for the winter?  Of course not, I have never planned for a disaster before.  However, I am beginning to rethink this horrible pattern I have of never being on-top of it.  Basil is one of those comfort foods that I love so much and thought would just stick around for my whole summer! It’s only August and I am in the depths of despair.  So what did I do? I turned to garlic!  Lots of garlic!

Tonight, since I was feeling sorry for myself, I did not cook, instead I ate a baguette of bread dipped in lots of olive oil and a TON of garlic.  However, half-way through the baguette, I was feeling like I was not eating a balanced enough meal (if you can even call bread and garlic a meal) so I had Taylor cook us up some corn.  Yes, this would help the situation.  The corn was not a cure for the deceased basil, but it helped a little.

And then we added some tomatoes, beets, and lettuce to the mix

And it made us feel less guilty about not really eating dinner.

Alright, I am off to clean the Emerson House.  I am pretty sure it will smell like garlic in there for months.  That is how much we ate! I wonder if Ralph Waldo Emerson liked garlic as much as we do?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Farewell Basil!

  1. Carrie Link says:

    WHAT? Bread and garlic are NOT a meal??? That’s just wrong. Wrong.

  2. Pingback: is it summer again? | A Farmer In The Dell

Leave a Reply

