Off To Market!

I am not going to lie, on farmers market days I get a little nervous about driving the van down Route 2.   The Belmont Farmers Market is about 10 miles away from Concord and somehow it still takes me about 30 minutes to get there.  Not because there is so much traffic, rather, I drive like a 90 year-old who should be wearing glasses and sitting in a booster seat.  I am not saying I am a bad driver, just slow and overly cautious!   Vans like the Farm van are normally driven by tough looking construction guys, or painters for that matter.  Not usually by 5 ft tall girls wearing plaid.   With that being said, I made it there with plenty of time to set up and even a few extra minutes to sit down and chat with my cousin-in-law Liza.  We had a great day selling our produce and Liza was kind enough to take some beautiful pictures of our veggies!

Is your mouth watering yet?  Mine is and I am around this stuff all day every day!  Fresh veggies never get old!

I came home tonight and totally crashed.  I did not have energy to make dinner, but no worries, Ragab to the rescue!  Liza and I made out like bandits and I had a great fresh dinner thanks to my hummus hero!

This would be pita, stuffed grape leaves, hummus, and tabouli.  Thank you Ragab for feeding me every Thursday.  I am never disappointed!

Off to bed. The alarm goes of at 5 a.m. tomorrow.  A day in the fields awaits me.  By the way, people who come to the farmers markets don’t believe me when I tell them I work the fields as well.  Why is that? The permanent dirt under my fingernails should give it away right?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Off To Market!

  1. Jean Husson says:

    Thanks for the tip about Samira’s Homemade. Both the hummus and the smoky baba ganoush are wonderful. Tomorrow I am making my favorite gazpacho with Hutchins veggies. Yum…..

  2. liz says:

    Andrea, I agree wioth Jean that this ought to be a great time to make gazpach. We just had it for last night and again tonight. It’s the best on realy hot summer evenings. Maybe Jean would be willing to share her recipe with you. Or you could have everyone submit their favorite and have a chill off.

    Looking at our time difference I realize you’ll be getting up soon. Enjoy the fields.

    tl

  3. Meggie says:

    Andrea! I love A Farmer in the Dell…it sounds like you’re mastering life on the farm and making delicious food – I can’t wait to try out some of the recipes. Keep the posts coming, it gives me something to do at work!

    • drealieberg says:

      YAY Meggie!!! Thanks for checking it out!!! My old favorite thing to do at my desk job was read blogs!! I will keep the posts coming!!!
      XOXO

  4. Jean Husson says:

    Here’s my gazpacho — the only bad news is you need to hand-cut the vegetables to get the right texture.

    Soup Base:
    48 oz V8 juice or tomato juice (homemade from dead ripe fruit in a blender is great)
    1 tbsp or so Worcestershire sauce
    1-2 c broth (beef, chicken, vegetable – homemade is best) or water
    1/4 c sherry vinegar (best quality)
    tabasco sauce to taste
    freshly ground black or white pepper and salt to taste

    Vegetables:
    4 large ripe tomatoes (any color), peeled, seeded and diced. (seed them through a strainer into your base to save the juice and eliminate the seeds)
    1 large bell pepper (any color) diced
    2-3 large cucumbers skin on, seeded if needed and diced
    6-8 large scallions (white & lots of green) thinly sliced (more if using smaller non-Hutchins scallions — about 2 cups)
    2 large cloves of garlic minced (Hutchins hard stem is the best)
    1-2 jalapeno or similar hot pepper minced (taste the pepper as heat varies)

    Let the mixture meld for 3 or more hours before serving chilled. Keeps for days in the fridge. I try to mix the colors of tomatoes and peppers for contrast. Out of season add a 28 oz can of San Marzano tomatoes put through a food mill to capture a better (not the same, but pretty good) tomato flavor in the base. Enjoy!

  5. Ragab says:

    Andrea,
    You’re so cute. Thanks for your wonderful comments. You earned free hummus for life.
    Warm regards,
    Ragab

Leave a Reply

