No More Hoeing Please!

We are back from Vacation!  However, it seems as if we never left! Doesn’t it always go that way? It felt good to jump right back into work mode though.   In fact, I felt so good to be back at the farm that I graciously volunteered to be one of two people to hoe all morning.  The rest of the crew members went off to harvest, while me and another girl spent 5 hours hoeing!  Now, let me preface this by saying, I used to love hoeing, it is instant gratification killing weeds.  However, 5 hours of it seems a bit excessive.  I do feel like my arms and abs got a great workout though! That is always a good thing.  Plus the fact that now our newest planting of lettuce and chard will be free of weeds for a while.  Remember, weeding on an organic farm is all part of the program.  There is no miracle spray.  Getting down on your hands and knees everyone!

After a long day on the farm I came home and decided to try something new in the kitchen.  Tomato pie!  I came across a recipe from a food blogger at thefrontburner.com that seemed like a really interesting version of the traditional tomato pie.  Her version uses brown rice as the crust instead of a traditional pie crust.  I thought this would be a nice healthier version, so I went for it.  It did not disappoint!

First some essential I harvested after work:

I began by making my standard pesto

I never measure out my pesto so this is all an estimate.

1/2 cup basil?

5 cloves garlic (yes, i LOVE garlic) normal people 2-3 cloves

1 cup extra virgin olive oil?

a handful of parmesan

a handful of peanuts

put it all in the food processor and press the button!

After the pesto was done I sliced up 3 medium-sized tomatoes and placed them in between paper towels to get excess moisture out

I then began on making the rice crust.  I cooked one cup of rice according to the package directions.  When It was ready, I combined 1 egg, plus about 3 tbs of the pesto mixture and mixed it all together. I then molded it into a 9 inch pie crust pan.  Baked at 350 for about 15 minutes.  While that was going on I sauteed up a purple onion over the stove top until browned.  When the onion was ready, and the rice crust was ready to be pulled from the oven, I layered everything onto the crust.  First the onions, then the tomatoes, basil, and more pesto mixture.  I layered it in that order twice.  Popped it back in the oven at 350 for 40 minutes.  Then this wonderful creation emerged!

It turned out wonderfully.  I really recommend making this!  It was surprisingly easy.

Now that Taylor and I are happily in a food coma, we are going to enjoy watching some old episodes of The Office before heading to bed.  Tomorrow is my long day.  Deep cleaning the Emerson house and working the Farm stand.  I think Taylor is planning on cooking dinner for me so I will let you know what he surprises me with!

Good night!

This entry was posted in Tomatoes. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to No More Hoeing Please!

  1. Liza says:

    that sounds AWESOME!

    • drealieberg says:

      I will make it for you for an end of school celebration dinner!!!! Yay you only have two more days!!!!!

  2. Christy Robinson says:

    Miss Andrea…Just wanted to let you know how much I am enjoying reading your blog. Your mom told me about it and I found the link on Carrie’s blog. Love it, love it, love it. You’ve come a long way since seventh grade!

    • drealieberg says:

      Mrs. Robinson! It is so great to hear from you! Thank you for reading the blog! Yes, yes, I sure have come a long way since 7th grade. My math skills are still suspect though! Let me know if you ever have any fun recipes to share. I am always looking for more to cook! Hope you are doing well.

      XOXO

  3. amy leclerc says:

    Looking at the title of your blog made me think of The Office. “No more hoeing” That’s what she said.

Leave a Reply

