A Traveling Farmer

Today was a LONG day.  I woke up with Taylor at 5:30 this morning to get a jump-start on cleaning the Emerson house and to bake this delicious breakfast:

Blueberry muffins! They turned out really well. I got the recipe from simplyrecipes.com.  Rumor has it that blueberries from at the farm are almost done! This cannot be happening.  I had plans….plans for blueberry jam, blueberry wine, and blueberry smoothies.  The past month all I have done is eat them straight from the pint (the best way to eat them I admit) but I wanted leverage from my blueberries.  I wanted to taste them this fall from homemade jam or wine for that matter.  That however, will  not happen this year.  I somehow missed the canning boat and am at a loss.  However, as with everything we grow on the farm, all great things must come to an end.  Even if we are not prepared.

Now, onto my long day. I woke up, baked muffins, fed Taylor, cleaned the Emerson house, went for a 5 mile run, came home, showered, and spent 9 long hours at the farm stand.  I am telling you, I always look forward to a day off from field work, but somehow forget how exhausting the farm stand is.  After 9 hours there, I came home to cook what I think is one of the best/easiest meals to prepare when you are not in the mood to cook. Pasta Primavera.  Quick, easy, healthy and filling.  Everything I am a fan of! Here is what I did:

Chopped up zucchini, bell pepper, carrots, scallions, red onion, and garlic.  Sauteed them in evoo while I cooked whole wheat pasta.

I then chopped up some tomatoes harvest yesterday from the farm and added them to the pan with all the veggies.  Added some pre-made tomato sauce with dried herbs and combined everything together!

Served with farm fresh salad and a simple homemade vinaigrette. Delicious!

Washed down with two Sam Adams Summer ale. Great way to end a long day! Now I need to pack! Taylor and I are heading down to Virginia for a long weekend.  That’s right everyone, we are taking a vacation!!!! I cannot wait to eat, sleep in, drink wine, sleep in, eat…. oh did I mention, eating, sleeping in, and drinking wine are my favorite things! Working on the farm has helped me appreciate simple things like sleep, standing in an upright position, drinking wine, and enjoying food that I have grown! Amazing! Life really boils down to the simple things.

I will be back on Sunday with a recap from the weekend! Please do not expect a healthy food recap.  We are hanging out with friends of Taylor’s from college.  Their favorite food group is buffalo chicken (they made that food group up). If anyone has any good recipes to share from the weekend please let me know.  I will need some inspiration Sunday night!

Hutchins Farm… I will miss your fresh produce over the weekend!

This entry was posted in Blueberries, Carrots, Scallions, Tomatoes, Zucchini. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

