I spy with my little eye….

Melons have arrived at Hutchins Farm!!!!  This is great news! Extremely great news!   They are healthy, delicious and you can wrap prosciutto around them!  Which is exactly what I did at lunch time today.  This would be a lunch made up of cantaloupe, prosciutto, blueberries, carrots and hummus.  All farm fresh (except the prosciutto, and the hummus from Ragab)

I personally have not harvested melons yet.  I think my boss took one look at my arm muscles and decided to keep me where I work best.  Harvesting lettuce, chard, herbs, tomatoes, and you get the point.  So I do not know how harvesting melons works yet.  I will have to go after work one of these days with Taylor (he has pretty strong arms) and see how it is done!

Work today was pretty standard.  I spent a lot of time harvesting summer squash, which I think should be a lot more expensive because harvesting summer squash is really unpleasant.  Basically, you dive head first into a prickly bush and cut out the ripe squash.  It causes a rash and draws blood each time.  I am not complaining, I am just letting you all know that the price of food really isn’t that much considering the work that goes into farming.  With that being said look at how beautiful this looks:

A car full of squash!

Tonight we came home from the farm and I got to work in the kitchen.  I was inspired by this recipe from epicurious.com

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups quinoa (small disk-shaped seeds)*
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked black beans, rinsed if canned
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons red-wine vinegar
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked corn (cut from about 2 large ears)
  • 3/4 cup finely chopped green bell pepper
  • 2 pickled jalapeño chilies, seeded and minced (wear rubber gloves)
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped fresh coriander

For dressing

  • 5 tablespoons fresh lime juice, or to taste
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons ground cumin, or to taste
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • *available at specialty foods shops and natural foods stores

print a shopping list for this recipe

Preparation

In a bowl wash quinoa in at least 5 changes cold water, rubbing grains and letting them settle before pouring off most of water, until water runs clear and drain in a large fine sieve.

In a saucepan of salted boiling water cook quinoa 10 minutes. Drain quinoa in sieve and rinse under cold water. Set sieve over a saucepan of boiling water (quinoa should not touch water) and steam quinoa, covered with a kitchen towel and lid, until fluffy and dry, about 10 minutes (check water level in kettle occasionally, adding water if necessary).

While quinoa is cooking, in a small bowl toss beans with vinegar and salt and pepper to taste.

Transfer quinoa to a large bowl and cool. Add beans, corn, bell pepper, jalapeños, and coriander and toss well.

Make dressing:
In a small bowl whisk together lime juice, salt, and cumin and add oil in a stream, whisking.

Drizzle dressing over salad and toss well with salt and pepper to taste. Salad may be made 1 day ahead and chilled, covered. Bring salad to room temperature before serving.

I however, thought we had quinoa in the house but it turned out we did not.  So I made this whole dish with rice instead.  It still turned out really good! The lime in the dressing really stood out to me and was really refreshing.

We enjoyed this with steamed string beans.  That I fancied up by sautéing olive oil, and garlic.  I then tossed in some crushed almonds and toasted them on the stove top for a few minutes.  It really added a nice flavor to the beans.

I put everything together and enjoyed this meal with some nice sparkling water.  It was a hot day out there and I cannot drink enough water!

Bon appetit

This entry was posted in Blueberries, Corn, Melon, Sweet Peppers. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I spy with my little eye….

  1. liz says:

    We had the quinoa salad last night as well. It is a great go to salad for hot summer evenings. It also keeps well for several days. Nothing like great leftovers.
    So enjoying your blog. The Oregonian did an article today about young farmers. They sound a bit like you and Taylor minus the whole Ralph Waldo Emerson home.

    • drealieberg says:

      I love quinoa as well. I will check out the Oregonian article right now. Do you have any other ideas for a good summer salad? XOXO

      • Jean Husson says:

        Try a salad of corn kernels, edamame, cranberry beans, red onion or scallions, bell pepper, and halved cherry tomatoes tossed with homemade dressing of cider vinegar, EVOO, dab of mustard, clove of garlic, and S&P along with chopped parsley, thyme and basil (or any herbs that you like–thinking cilantro would be a good variation). Beautiful to look at and yummy.

        I just made a fruit bowl with Hutchins gala melon and blueberries to die for.

  2. drealieberg says:

    Jean,
    I will definitely try your salad. That sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

