Stuffed!

Last night I wanted to try something I have never done before.  Stuffed peppers.  For some reason, I imagined stuffed peppers as being a totally complicated gourmet experience.  However, I got the first part wrong.  They are totally easy, non-threatening, and delicious.  I followed a guideline recipe from cooks.com, but added a lot of extra ingredients to jazz this up a bit.

I harvested a few essentials from the farm after work yesterday.  And yes, Taylor let my drive the new truck around the farm!!!

I really wish my dad had seen me! His 5 ft tall daughter driving around dirt roads in this beast! It was wonderful!

Stuffed peppers called for some of these wonderful essentials:

Last nights menu: Stuffed Bell Peppers with Black Beans and Rice

1 cup rice

1 cup black beans

1/4 cup cilantro

1 diced tomato

1 small onion diced

1 jalapeno diced

1/2 of a medium zucchini sliced

As much cheddar cheese as your little heart desires

4 medium bell peppers with tops removed and seeds gutted out

I preheated the oven to 350

In a medium sized pot I cooked the rice according to the package

I then added the black beans, cilantro, diced jalapeno, zucchini, onion, and tomato to the mixture. Along with some chili powder and cumin.

I then scooped a spoonful of the mixture into each of the peppers.  Topped it off with a slice of cheddar cheese and popped it into the oven for 45 minutes.  It turned out AMAZING! I do not know why I thought stuffed peppers sounded so complicated.  This was 100 percent no cooking experience easy!

Taylor and I enjoyed this meal with corn on the cob and this wonderful bottle of Merlot from Bogle:

A great way to end a long hard day in the fields.

This entry was posted in Sweet Peppers. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stuffed!

  1. liz says:

    You had me at peppers. I haven’t done this so i’ll give it a try. i might add a little cumin to the rice. Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. drealieberg says:

    I added chili powder and cumin. they were good!

  3. Carrie Link says:

    Love lizzy’s comment.

    Wish Eric could see you drive that bad boy, too!

  4. Judy says:

    Just found you through the Love blog. Love your blog so far! I’ve passed it along to my sister and brother in law in NH, who live in the mountains and are vegans (and the coolest people I know..).

    I love this recipe. My mom used to make stuffed peppers, but with hamburger. I like your version better. I will DEFINITELY try them in the next week. My four hungry kiddos will love them.

    Fun blog! Cant wait to follow along…

    judy
    justonefoot.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

