Success!!!

Today was a success!  Liza and I managed to sell almost everything we brought to market.  I think Hutchins Farm has a couple of advantages at the Belmont Market.  First off, we are one of the only organic vendors, our produce is definitely the best, and we are by far the cutest girls working the market. I mean who wouldn’t buy veggies from us?

One of the greatest privileges of working the Belmont farmers market is Ragab the hummus guy.  Not only is he delightful, he has some of the best hummus I have ever tried.  On top of that, he loves to feed Liza and me.  On farmers market days I usually do not bring a lunch and rely on the likely hood of Ragab feeding me.  Today he did not disappoint.  This would be a smoked salmon, goat cheese, and arugula sandwich.

I am telling you, Ragab is the man!!! If you are looking for some amazing hummus check out http://www.samirashomemade.com

Another exciting thing happened at the market today.  A birthday celebration! If you think Liza and I passed up the chance to eat grocery store-bought birthday cake, you would be mistaken.  High fructose corn syrup and all we dove in.

All the fresh veggies we eat on a regular basis fight off all the artificial stuff right?

Tonight I made dinner in a flash.   When in doubt, pesto will save the day.  I grabbed some fresh basil from our yard (that’s right, when Taylor and I are not farming up at Hutchins we play around with our own garden.  It’s only about 3 ft by 2 ft. but still….)

tonight’s menu: Pasta with pesto and tomatoes and farm fresh salad

I never measure out my pesto so this is all an estimate.

1/2 cup basil?

5 cloves garlic (yes, i LOVE garlic) normal people 2-3 cloves

1 cup extra virgin olive oil?

a handful of parmesan

a handful of peanuts

put it all in the food processor and press the button!

I added this to whole wheat pasta with tomatoes.  A side salad with a simple olive oil and red wine vinegar dressing.   Also, a glass of vino. Perfection

This entry was posted in basil, Garlic, Tomatoes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Success!!!

  1. amy leclerc says:

    have you thought of calling your blog “a farm chick in the dell?” that’d be cute.

Leave a Reply

