Lettuce anyone?

The next time you browse your local grocery store, take a good long look at the produce section.  Maybe walk by the organic lettuce for a minute.  You may not know this, but growing organic lettuce is a MAJOR pain in the back!  I spent a large portion of today planting lettuce.  That means down on my hands and knees for hours at a time. Each and every lettuce head that I was planting I already had a relationship with.  It was only a few short weeks ago that I stood in a 100 degree greenhouse transplanting tiny little lettuce heads, (smaller than my pinky) into 72 cell plastic trays.  This is where they would spend the first portion of their lives growing bigger and stronger before we would eventually transplant them outside into the dirt.   Today was the special day.  We spent about 2 hours planting 1500 lettuce heads.  Down in my favorite back-breaking position.   It’s not over yet, it will only be a matter of time before the weeds begin to invade.  When that happens (which it will)  we will spend another 3 or so hours hoeing the weeds.  That’s right, there is only one way to get rid of weeds on an organic farm, and that is to pull them out with your own two hands.  So when you look at the price of a head of organic lettuce next time you’re at the store, be thankful that I didn’t slap the price tag on there instead.  If it were up to me, organic lettuce heads would cost 10 bucks a pop!   With that being said, I am off to share a wonderful salad with my favorite guy.  You all should do the same.

This entry was posted in Lettuce and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lettuce anyone?

  1. liz says:

    I agree completely! Not enough can be said about a plate of fresh salad greens.

  2. Carrie Link says:

    Love lizzy’s comment and love the picture of you two.

Leave a Reply

