You had me at beans

Yesterday at the farm after a long morning of harvesting some of my favorites (lettuce, kale, Swiss chard, tomatoes, and basil)  our boss sent a few of the crew members out to harvest string beans.  Picking beans has become my new favorite crop to harvest because  not only do I love beans, but it involves sitting on a bucket! (Or so I thought). After hours of being in a back-breaking hunched over position, sitting on a bucket is a dream.  One of the crew members and I got nice and situated on our buckets and began picking.  Things were going smoothly until our boss drove by, told us we were not filling our buckets fast enough and to ditch the sitting position and resume the bent over killer position.  3 hours later and about 6 buckets filled it was time to call it a day.  I was feeling a little bitter towards the beans since my back and hamstrings were killing me.  But I would not let them defeat me.  Dinner time was not far off and I decided to treat Taylor and myself to something involving these backbreaking beans.  And you better believe it was going to be damn good or else I may never be able to look at string beans with the same pleasure again.

Last nights menu:

Penne Pasta with string beans, tomatoes, basil, and garlic (all farm fresh of course!)

I started by washing and trimming the string beans, then brought a large pot of water to a boil. I added the string beans and  after about 5 minutes removed them from the water.  I added the penne to the same water and cooked for about 10 minutes.  Meanwhile, I chopped up the tomatoes, basil, and garlic and stirred it all together with olive oil, salt and pepper and a little parmesan cheese.

Then I drained the pasta and added everything together!

Taylor and I enjoyed this amazing meal with a little vino and called it a night!

This entry was posted in Beans. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You had me at beans

  1. liz says:

    Personally I am shocked that fresh produce doe not cost considerably more than we are currently paying. Your efforts sounded as though they were well rewarded with a wonderful meal.
    Keep picking.
    Keep coooking.
    Keep posting.

  2. Jean Husson says:

    Love your blog — keep up the back-breaking work — it is worth it. I am going to make your bean/tomato/basil/parm penne for dinner next week. Looks great.

    Have you seen Marian Morash’s Victory Garden Cookbook? Knopf put it back in print. It’s organized by vegetable and also has a great index that let’s you look up recipes by ingredient. She does basic recipes (read guidelines) and then lists variations on the theme to help you riff on it. I think you would enjoy it.

    PS. Hope your eggs come from Pete & Jen’s backyard birds. Helps to keep you out of Crosby’s…..

  3. drealieberg says:

    Jean,

    Thank you for checking out the blog! I will definitely check out Marian Morash’s Victory Garden Cookbook. I am always looking for new ways to cook up some of my favorites. The cookbook sounds simple and user friendly! Two things I love.

    I will check out Pete and Jen’s backyard birds for my eggs. I am new to the area and need to get pointed into the right direction. Thank you for the suggestion!

    cheers!

Leave a Reply

